Date: Jumaat, September 14, 2018

The National Scroll of Honour Award is to recognize public and private organisations as well as individuals who have made great contributions to the sustainable development of human settlements in Malaysia. The award is parallel to the UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award that was launched by UN-Habitat in 1989 and currently the most prestigious human settlements award in the world.

Its aim is to acknowledge initiatives which have made outstanding  contributions in various fields, such as shelter provision, highlighting the plight of the homeless, leadership in post conflict reconstruction, and improving living conditions and providing innovative solutions in providing housing for the needful people and efforts towards improving the quality of urban life. In 2011, the SMART Tunnel (Stormwater Management and Road Tunnel), by MMC-Gamuda Malaysia is among the 5 winners of UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award.

The award, a plague engraved with the name of the winner and their achievement, is presented to the winner during the Malaysia World Habitat Day celebration and winners will then be nominated for the prestigious UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award.


Those eligible to participate in the National Scroll of Honour Award 2018 are:

-Government organisations or agencies;

-Local Authorities;

-Civil Society, Communities Organisations and NGO’s;

-Private sector

-Professional Bodies Organisations

-Academics and research Institutions

-Public or Private Foundations

-The Media; and



Candidates for the 2018 National Scroll of Honour Award are to submit details of their achievements by 1stOctober 2018 to International [at] (link is external). Please refer website (link is external) for further detail.